Ragnar Kjartansson & Alterazioni Video

Program accompanying the exhibition

And away with the minutes
Dieter Roth and Music

Saturday, May 2, 2015, 8 p.m.
Sunday, May 3, 2015, 5 p.m.
HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU2)

Ragnar Kjartansson & Alterazioni Video
Symphony No. 2

As part of the accompanying program of the exhibition at the Hamburger Bahnhof, the Icelandic artist Ragnar Kjartansson is presenting the world premiere of Symphony No. 2 in collaboration with the Italian artists’ collective Alterazioni Video. The performance is based on the traditional structure of a symphony, whose four movements are performed on stage by members of Alterazioni Video making use of a variety of props. Ragnar Kjartansson appears in four different video clips which determine the length of the individual movements. Each movement is based on visual and acoustic actions repeated in a “loop” by the actors. A documentation of the performance will be on show in the exhibition following the event.

Ragnar Kjartansson (b. 1976 in Reykjavík) operates in the areas of performance, theatre and music. His performances and video installations, which he frequently develops in close collaboration with artist and musician friends from different spheres, centre upon the artistic process and the moment in which art is created. His works often last hours and even days through their use of constant repetition, and many of them feature the artist himself in physically extremely demanding performances in which he plays a variety of roles.

Alterazioni Video is an artist collective founded in 2004 in Milan, Italy and is now based in New York and Berlin. The members of the group are Paololuca Barbieri, Alberto Caffarelli, Andrea Masu and Giacomo Porfiri. Since 2004, Alterazioni Video has participated with their projects in international exhibitions. In 2009, the group was invited together with Ragnar Kjartansson to take part of Performa 09 in New York with the performance Symphony No. 1.

A project by Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin in cooperation with Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V and HAU Hebbel am Ufer.


Ragnar Kjartansson & Alterazioni Video
Symphony No.2, 2015
Drawing: Ragnar Kjartansson

Dieser Post ist auch verfügbar auf: German

Comments are closed.